Get Adobe Flash player


The School of Languages, Federal College of Education Abeokuta on Tuesday, 10th March 2020 organised her 14th National Conference themed “LINGUISTICS AND LITERARY STUDIES FOR SOCIO-POLITICAL CHANGE IN NIGERIA”. The Conference which was held at the COEASU Hall of the College had Dr Kikelomo Adeniyi, from Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education, Otto Ijanikan, as its keynote presenter and Dr Simeon Idowu Olayiwola, from the Nigerian French Village, Badagry, as the Lead paper presenter.

While juxtaposing the theme of the conference in their various addresses, the Keynote speaker and the Lead paper presenter reiterated the need for a well groomed developmental learning stage for a child, devoid of hate speeches and utterances that could mar the upbringing of the child. The speakers believed that, a child portrays whatever he had learnt from infant pointing out the need to teach children from cradle and instil in them language that would mould them instead of a contrary training. In their separate presentations, they maintained that, language was highly essential in moulding which according to them starts from what was learnt and developed at the early stage of life. They noted that using hate speeches as teaching aids was detrimental to the future of the children and the country in general adding that the Socio-political challenges were the major problems affecting Nigerians and Nigeria which calls for urgent attention.

Earlier, the Deputy Provost, Dr R.A. Soyele while welcoming participants to the Conference, congratulated the Dean for the success recorded adding that, any Dean who organises Conference in his or her school had actually added value to people. He therefore appreciated the Chairman organising Committee, Dr S.A. Fajenyo saying that, he was a zealous person in whatever was assigned to him.

At the conference were the Deputy Provost, Dr R.A Soyele; Registrar, Dr G.A Adebayo, Keynote Presenter, Dr Kikelomo Adeniyi; Lead Paper Presenter, Dr Simion Idowu Olayiwola; College Chairman Committee of Deans, Mr S.A Makinde; Deans of other Schools, Directors, other Staff and Students of the School of Languages.