Get Adobe Flash player


A former Deputy Provost, Dean School of Languages, Head of Department, Yoruba Department, Past Chairman OVL Board, a Chief Lecturer until retirement and an Oracle in the College, Alhaji Nurudeen Olanrewaju Sodipe has pulled out of College Academic Board on Wednesday, 20th October, 2021 after attaining the stipulated age of Sixty five years (65) in the services of the College.

Speaking at the occasion, the Provost, Dr R. A. Soyele stated that the essence of the pull out was to appreciate the Chief Lecturers who had served the College meritoriously. He noted that Alh. Sodipe is a brilliant man who had in his own way added value to the College while he was in service, saying that he was a Unionist par excellence, a fair and honest man who believed in equity, a critical thinker and highly analytical personality filled with wisdom. He therefore prayed that God would continue to be with him in his future endeavours.

In their Goodwill messages, members of the Academic Board, while extolling the virtues of Alh. N.O Sodipe noted that whilst serving, he was a very brilliant, analytical and hardworking man, blessed with wisdom and a man who usually fought for people’s rights, an encyclopaedia, based on his vast knowledge among other virtues.

Appreciating the kind gesture of the Provost and other Academic Board members, Alhaji Nurudeen Sodipe said that he was the most fortunate retiring Staff saying that he pulled out at a time the new Provost and Deputy Provost first appeared at the Academic Board meeting. While appreciating the former Provost and other well-wishers for extolling his virtues, Alhaji Sodipe noted that Dr A.A Ajayi was a good manager of both human and material resources.

It is pertinent to note that Academic Board in the Colleges of Education could be likened to the Senate of the Universities where matters relating to academics are discussed and decisions taken. Membership include The Provost, Deputy Provost, Registrar, College Librarian, Deans, Academic Directors, all Chief Lecturers, Heads of Academic Departments etc.