Get Adobe Flash player


As part of the activities marking his 85th birthday anniversary, the first Principal and Provost of our College, Alhaji Gani Akanbi Belo on Monday, 3rd August 2020 donated copies of his autobiography titled “Footprints in the sand of Time” to the College Community.

In her remarks at the presentation, Mrs O.T Ayegbayo, a former Registrar of the College who represented the Octogenarian, noted the passion of the author towards the College and how he had loved to launch the Book in the presence of Staff and Students. She informed the Provost of the wish of the author and prayed that the College finds the Book useful.

Speaking also at the presentation, Dr Bolapade Ige, another representative of the author, noted that the Book was a must read for everyone as it gave deep insight to the whole life of the author with special focus on the College and his years as the Principal/Provost.

Responding, the Provost, Dr A.A Ajayi thanked Alhaji Gani Belo and his representatives for the honour bestowed on the College. He was full of praises to God for him, his vision and passion for the College exemplified in all he did and keeps doing. He assured the author of the Book that the College will do justice to his wishes as intended.

On hand for the presentation with the Provost were the Deputy Provost, Dr R.A Soyele; the Registrar, Dr G.A Adebayo and the Director of Internal Audit, Mr L.G Ogunwole, FCA.


Dr Ayodele Adetayo Ajayi has on Monday 3rd August 2020 in his office paid glowing tributes to the foundation Principal and Provost of our dear College, Alhaji Gani Akanbi Belo on the occasion of his 85th birthday anniversary.

Speaking while receiving the copies of the Book launched for the occasion titled, “Footprints in the sand of Time”, the Provost lauded the vision of the first Provost and the passion with which he directed and supervised the formative years of the College from the temporary site at Isale Igbein. He praised Baba Belo for his dedication and selflessness in seeing the College grow even to the present day. The Provost prayed to God to further bless, protect and guide the Octogenarian and his entire family.

It is on record that Alhaji Gani Belo was appointed the first Principal of the Federal Advanced Teachers College (FATC) in 1976 and this metamorphosed to the Federal College of Education Abeokuta in 1982. He was the Principal and Provost for fifteen (15) years between 1976 and 1991.


Arising from the death of the Head of Nursing Unit of the College Medical Centre and as a measure to curb the spread of the deadly Corona Virus, the College Management had recently fumigated the College Medical Centre and other places on campus.

The step was taken in line with guidelines laid out by the National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) to avoid the spread of COVID 19 which claimed the life of a Head Nurse while two others were infected with the disease. The College Management thereafter shutdown the College for two weeks. The two medical personnel have tested negative after further tests were carried out on them.


The College Management has on Thursday, 11th June 2020 appointed Mr Olusola Josiah Ajibola as head of the College Security Unit. Until his appointment, he was the CSO II. The appointment was as a result of the exit of the Chief Security Officer I (CSO I), Mr Jonathan O. Adeyemi from the College and the need for a suitable replacement.

His appointment was based on antecedents of his Professional competence and acumen.

College update Congratulates Mr O.J Ajibola on this notable achievement and wishes him a successful stay in office.


The Provost, Dr A.A Ajayi has pleaded with all College Contractors to complete all awarded contracts before the specified time.

He made this plea on Thursday, 25th June 2020 at the Contractors financial bid opening for 2017 – 2019 TETFUND sponsored annual and zonal intervention projects held in the Kunle Filani Academic Theatre of the College.

Reacting further, Dr Ajayi appreciated everyone present noting that amidst the COVID 19 pandemic and restriction of interstate movements, some people still managed to be present for the meeting. He further appreciated College contractors who had been part of the College in ensuring its progress saying that the FCE Abeokuta had always adhered to rules and regulations of the Tenders and would not down play transparent operations. He added that transparency had always been the culture and that the College could not afford calculated errors, as such due diligence would be ensured and estimates closest to the College estimate would be considered. He therefore assured that everything would be diligently and transparently done in line with due process and the Procurement Act.

The Director of Works and Physical Planning, Engr V.A Adeneye while giving brief on the Projects emphasised that the projects were but not limited to redesigning of the School of Science offices, Heads of Departments’ offices, School Officer’s office, Conference room, Economics and Political Science Departments, Students Guidance and Counselling Centre as well as Procurement of furniture items for Economics and Political Science departments and School of Science.

The Head of Procurement, Engr M.K Oyetoran thereafter gave the criteria for eligibility and responsiveness to the tender, the key to the Tenders Box was then handed over to the Registrar, Dr G.A Adebayo by the Provost for sorting of each Contractor’s bid.

The Professional Bodies and Contractors while giving remarks applauded the College for maintaining transparency in the discharge of its duties and affirmed that Federal College of Education Abeokuta had been second to none and therefore implored the College to keep up the good work.